What is HiLumi?

The High Luminosity LHC (HL-LHC) is an upgrade of the LHC to achieve instantaneous luminosities a factor of five larger than the LHC nominal value, thereby enabling the experiments to enlarge their data sample by one order of magnitude compared with the LHC baseline programme. Following five years of design study and R&D, this challenging project requires now about ten years of developments, prototyping, testing and implementation; hence operation is expected to start in the middle of the next decade. The timeline of the project is dictated by the fact that, at the beginning of the next decade, many critical components of the accelerator will reach the end of their lifetime due to radiation damage and will thus need to be replaced. The upgrade phase is therefore crucial not only for the full exploitation of the LHC physics potential, but also to enable operation of the collider beyond 2025.

The HL-LHC will rely on a number of key innovative technologies, including cutting-edge 11-12 Tesla superconducting magnets, compact superconducting crab cavities with ultra-precise phase control for beam rotation, new technology for beam collimation, high-power, loss-less superconducting links, etc. A detailed description of the project and its technological and operational challenges is provided in the HL-LHC Technical Design Report  and the HL-LHC book.

8th HL-LHC Collaboration Meeting - CERN, 15 October 2018


Results of the HiLumi Photo Contest 2018

Jury members: Isabel Bejar Alonso, Benoit Delille, Didier Steyaert, Nicolas Peray

All pictures, including the winning photos will be published in CDS very soon. Thank you for your passion, your engagement and creativity!


Cat I - HL-LHC: Pushing the boundaries of Science and Technology.

1st Superconductive Skin - Adrià Gallifa Terricabras

2nd D1 Model Coils - Andrea Musso

3rd Q2 beam screen prototype - Marco Morrone


Cat 2 - HL-LHC: Teams at work

1st ex.  Installing epc rad-tol equipment to cope with harsh HL-LHC environment - Slawosz Uznanski

1st ex. Purple hands - Rita Ferreira

3rd Dipole Construction - Pablo Santos Diaz


Cat 3 - HL-LHC: Tooling and Infrastructures

1st ex. Welder equipment - Jean-Frederic Fuchs 

1st ex. MQXFB winding tooling - Beatriz Arias Alonso

3rd ex Pushing cables - Rita Ferreira

3rd ex. Coupleur RF - Simon Francois Cherault 


Cat 4 - HL-LHC: Equipment in construction

1st The iron poles - Marco Statera

2nd D1 model coils - Andrea Musso

3rd Ready to focus the beam - Simon Francois Cherault


Special Price

The world through a decapole superferric magnet - Andrea Musso

Hollow cathode in glass bulb - Giulio Stancari

The best team spirit -  Team involved in the beam screen - Marco Morrone

Special Mention

The smile - Security for survey and align - J.B. Herrera


The artists are: Adria Gallifa Terricabras, Andrea Musso, Arnaud Monteuuis, Beatriz Almeida Ferreira, Beatriz Arias Alonso, Bjorn Hans Filip Lindstrom, Cedric Garion, Erwin Van Hove, Frida Maria Eriksson, Giulio Stancari, Jakub Aleksander Jaros, Joshua Herrera, Jean-Frederic Fuchs, Marco Morrone, Marco Statera, Miguel Mendes, Ofelia Capatina, Pablo Santos Diaz, Paolo Fessia, Rita Ferreira, Simon François Cherault, Slawosz Uznanski, Thomas Lipton.